Things you should know about me. (Declare 4×4)

This next week I am attending my very first blogging conference in Dallas Texas.  The name of the conference is Declare. It is a gathering of Christian women who write about declaring God’s word online.  So in order to get to know everyone a little bit better Declare is hosting a link up party and asking everyone to share some fun facts about ourselves. beach family

4 Fun Facts About Me.

  1. I have been married to my sweet husband for 13 years.  We met when we were 18 and dated off and on for 8 years including breaking up 3 times.  He is am amazing blessing to me and the best father to our kiddos.
  2. God has blessed me with 4 kids Cadyn 11, Griffin 9, Tanner 6, and Madeline Joy almost 4.  I always wanted 4 kids and had no idea how crazy having 4 kids would be.  Being a mom of a bigger family has taught me more about God and myself than I ever imagined.
  3. Before I was a stay at home Mom I was an elementary school teacher.  My favorite grade to teach was 1st because I love to be a part of kids learning to read.
  4. I have lived all over California.  Some of my childhood was spent in Southern California but most of it in the San Francisco Bay Area in a town called Pleasanton.  I went to college in San Diego and now live in the Los Angeles area.

4 Endearing Quirks

  1. I don’t want anyone to touch my feet with their feet.  Like if my someone’s feet touch mine under the table YUCK! A pedicure doesn’t bother me in fact I love a good pedicure.
  2. I love old school hip hop and rap music.  When I listen to it in the car by myself then I imagine that I am an amazing dancer.
  3. When I am given change at a drive thru it grosses me out for the person to touch my hand.  Especially if they have long dirty nails.
  4. I have a really dry sense of humor.  Most of the time my jokes are only for those to hear sitting by me.  I have dreams of being a stand up comedian some day.

4 Things About My Blog/Writing.

  1. I have been reading blogs since 2005 and even started a blog way back then.  I have always wanted to write more consistently and be part of the blogging community.  So Declare is a big move for me that I am beyond thrilled for.
  2. Writing is not something I feel very confident about.  I was more of a math and sports girl myself.
  3. My blog name, Laundry Prayers, comes from all the time I have spent in the garage at the washing machine praying for strength, wisdom, and forgiveness to get me through another day as a Mom.
  4. I am not a grammar nazi in fact I am sure there are lots of mistakes and misuses of commas.

4 Of My Favorite Things.

  1. I love the St Louis Cardinals and have been a huge fan my whole life.  My parents grew up outside of St Louis and have generations of Cardinal fans in their family.  Unfortunately my husband is a Dodger fan.  My 3 boys are Cardinal fans but my daughter is being swayed by her Dad.
  2. Dr Pepper is my drink of choice.   I would drink it all the time if it wasn’t so bad for me. Hoping to find some fun Dr Pepper stuff in Texas.
  3. When going on a road trip I would always choose chips over cookies for a snack. I am a salty snack fan.
  4. This year I have started baking my own bread.  I have made sourdough, sandwich, hamburger buns, English muffins, and breadsticks.  By far the most delicious kind is pretzel bread. I wrote about my bread making here.

4x4 Declare

10 thoughts on “Things you should know about me. (Declare 4×4)

  1. You need to send your daughter to visit me — I’ll take her to a Cardinal game and deck her out in a Yadi jersey! 🙂 You’re definitely going in the right direction for Dr. Pepper stuff. We lived for 5 or 6 years in Waco, TX (a couple of hours south of Dallas, if I remember the distance correctly), the town in which Dr. Pepper was invented. One of my favorite memories of Waco is when my son’s Tiger Cub group visited Baylor, and the trainer brought out the Baylor bear (real live bear, but I forget his name). He would twist off the cap to a bottle of Dr. Pepper, tilt his head back, and guzzle the whole bottle down. One of the dads was chanting under his breath “chug, chug, chug”. lol Looking forward to meeting a fellow Cards fan next week. 🙂

  2. Amy, it’s so awesome that you are stretching yourself and taking on blogging with new fervor! I am really excited for you to attend the blogging conference. Enjoy time away from the rigors of home, time with other like-hearted moms, and time to learn something new! I’m anxious to hear all about it when you return!

  3. Love this post and am so thrilled you are coming to Declare this year, and am cheering wildly for all that blogging will lead to in your life. So many need to hear your wisdom, and I’m so thankful to be your friend. Let’s do this! xo

  4. Sourdough bread is something I’m going to try, again. Ordered cultures from Culture for Health and hope to get it going soon. Loved reading more about you Amy and glad you are stepping out to be at Declare. See you there!

  5. Amy,

    How exciting that you will be coming to Declare. I attended last year and was greatly blessed by the wonderful hospitality and gifted speakers.

    I lived in Carlsbad, CA for two years back in 1995 and sadly didn’t appreciate what a paradise it was at the time. One of my daughters now lives in La Jolla and does an outreach ministry on the campus of UCSD.

    It was fun visiting your blog and learning a bit about you. I look forward to hopefully meeting you in a few short days.

    Blessings,

    Cherie
    http://thewerners.org/2014/08/01/factoids-about-me-as-i-prepare-for-declare/

  6. Wow, Amy – you were right. We DO have a lot of similarities. I love that your kids are complete opposites of mine. I have three girls and a boy and you have three boys and a girl! 😉 And I’m from Missouri (Cardinals), love Dr. Pepper (but had to give it up) and I love long car rides eating corn nuts (the salty over sweet). We need to meet, girl! See you in a couple days.

Leave a Reply

