Five Minute Friday – Belong

Five Minute Friday NewToday I am joining Lisa -Jo Baker and the community at Five Minute Friday. This week the party is being hosted by Crystal Stine.  The idea is to write on the given word for 5 minutes. Just get your ideas out without overthinking, over editing or worrying.  Just write.

The word is Belong

There was a stage in my life when I had a really tough time and wanted to belong so bad.  It was a tough time for me.  I love community and think it is so important in life.  But for some reason ever place I tried I just didn’t belong.  Then God prompted us to move and I found a place to belong that place is called Mom to Mom.  Mom to Mom is a community of moms at my church that has been the most important group in my motherhood journey.

Motherhood is lonely and hard sometimes.  Each and every day we hang out with little people and take care of their every needs.  Somewhere in that journey we can lose our own self.  Motherhood with friends is still hard but a lot more fun.

I believe motherhood is not meant to be done alone.  I belief that community is so important in all stages of life but particularly for me in the motherhood journey.

Mom to Mom meets 2 times a month for a two and a half hour slice of heaven.  We eat a hot breakfast without sharing, hear encouraging and challenging speakers and most important we find a place to belong.  We give each other ideas about how to get your 2 year old to take a nap or make healthy snacks.  We make plans to hang out at the park that is fenced in so the little rascals don’t escape.

But the most important part is we direct each other to Jesus in our journey.  We encourage each other to make time to spend in His word to fill our hearts with His truth and encouragement.

Are you in a spot in life where you feel like you belong? If not is it something you long for or would love to have?  Community is worth looking for.  It is worth showing up to a place where you don’t know a soul.  I want to encourage you to take the risk it will be so worth it.

Check out some other bloggers over at Five Minute Friday and there might just be a community there where you can belong.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Belong

  1. I wish I had had a group like that when I was young with kids. My daughter has an awesome group of mothers/friends at her church. I did not.
    It’s good that you wrote this because it might inspire someone else to reach out to a similar group.
    They might have been hesitating and this could be the encouragement they need to jump in! Great post! :>)

  2. I’m so glad I found your blog (via the Declare Community) — I’ve spent a very nice hour or so reading all your posts. I’m hoping to meet you next week, and if I knew when that might happen, I’d wear my Yadi jersey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

