Five Minute Friday- Exhale

Five Minute Friday New

Today I am joining the community over at Lisa-Jo Baker‘s blog for Five Minute Friday.  The idea is to write for 5 minutes without over thinking it.  Just share what is on your heart and mind without worrying about it being perfect.

This week’s word is Exhale

As I run up the big hill just in front of my kids’s school during my I remember to “exhale”.  It is about 5:55 or so and I am heading toward the last leg of my morning run with my friend.  It seems that as I am struggling to make it up to top I am forgetting to breath.  I am working so hard to put one foot in front of the other.  But I finally make it to almost the same spot every time and I inhale deeply and then exhale.

I am not a runner or at least that is what I tell people when they ask me.  “So your a runner?”  My response is usually “I run but I am not a runner.”

This past April I ran my first 5K. It was a big deal. I trained 3 times a week for about 8 weeks at 5:30 am. I bought new shoes, a sports bra, and running shoes. But most important was that I set a goal for myself and I stuck to it and met it.
The stage of life I am in is like nothing I ever expected. It is full of never completed tasks or goals not met.The laundry is never done neither are the dishes. The kids homework just keeps on coming. The bathroom spells like pee ALL the time.

So I decided to set a goal that I could work for.  One of the most important things I have learned through my running journey was the importance of a friend to help you stick to it. Neither of us had every run a race or even run for any distance at all.  I am the girl who only played soccer for one year because I hated to run.

We started off by walking to Starbucks getting a yummy drink and walking back.  We figured that we were doing more than those sleeping.  But my goal of running a 5K was still in the back of my mind.  So we started the program Couch to 5K.  Have you heard of it?  It is a slow progression of running and walking.  You start out running 90 seconds and then walking.  Each day you run for a little more and walk a little less.  We both thought there was no way we could do it.  But we did slowly but surely we were becoming runners and it felt so good.

During my motherhood journey there are times (a lot) that I feel like I am not really good at anything any more. There are days I feel like there is no way I am going to make it kind of like running up the hill. Motherhood isn’t measurable.  It can’t be graded or scored but man I wish it could.  Even though I don’t receive a score I keep seeking wisdom from God daily in my journey.  A new favorite verse for me has been in James 1: 4-5. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete not lacking anything.  If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.

Running and motherhood have more in common than I ever thought.  We need to persevere, let friends help us, and seek wisdom or a plan.

Come check out some other wonderful blogs at Five Minute Friday.

 

 

One thought on “Five Minute Friday- Exhale

Leave a Reply

