Menu Planning Monday – June 30

MPM-SummerThis week I have a little break from the preparation of regular meals.  My husband and I are going to Palm Spring for 3 days and 2 nights to celebrate our 13th anniversary.

Pantry Fillers: This week I tried a few recipes to fill my pantry a bit.

About a year ago or so I started making homemade granola.  I LOVE it with greek yogurt in the morning.  I have tried to make it before and it I wasn’t happy with it.  But this Alton Brown recipe for granola has worked great. I have used a variety of chopped nuts or dried fruit in this recipe.

I also made breakfast cookies I found on Money Saving Mom’s blog.  These were tasty and filling.  My little kids really enjoyed the cookies and I felt good about them eating them.  I think calling them a cookie helped. I made a double batch and froze some for a future camping trip.

Sandwich Bread This past year I have started making homemade bread regularly.  This is our favorite sandwich bread. You can find my favorite bread recipes here.

Sunday – French Toast  Again my kids love breakfast for dinner.  There are a few things I have done differently with french toast recently.  I started using homemade french bread.  I make it the day before, slice it and let it sit out over night.  Using older bread helps the toast to be less soggy.  This time I made french bread sliced it and put it in the freezer.  We will see how it turns out.  My husband is the breakfast king and so he found this recipe from Alton Brown that we really like.

Monday- Palm Springs Something yummy without children asking me to share it.

Tuesday-  Palm Springs

Wednesday-  My plan is to eat out after picking up our kids depending on when we get back from our trip.

Thursday- Pulled Pork, homemade mac and cheese, fruit, and smore bars for dessert. We are hosting friends who are missionaries in Ethiopia for dinner.  They are home for the summer and we are so excited to see them.

Friday (4th of July)  We are going to a BBQ so I am bringing Fruit Flag and homemade salsa and chips.

Saturday- BBQ Chicken Salad with homemade pretzel bread and fruit. In summer I am always looking for yummy salads I can make for dinner.  This one has been a big hit.  One of the keys to this salad is homemade buttermilk dressing.  You can grill up some chicken or use my favorite rotisserie chicken from Costco.

Sunday- Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos  This is a new recipe for me.  I have seen it on Pinterest for a long time and am ready to give it a try.  I will report back as to how it went.

This week I am again linking up with OrgJunkie and her Menu Planning Monday.  Head on over there and check our some other blogs with great menu plans.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Menu Planning Monday – June 30

  1. Pingback: Menu planning Monday – July 7th | Laundry Prayers

Leave a Reply

