Meal Planning Monday- June 23

MPM-SummerThere are few things in my motherhood journey that  have helped me more than meal planning.  It saves me so much time, money, and stress to plan ahead.  With a family of 6 (4 of them boys) we go through a lot of food around here.  When I plan my dinners it also helps me avoid the drive through trap.  You know what I am talking about, it is 12 o’clock you are driving home from running errands and you don’t want to have quesadillas, grilled cheese or mac and cheese with the kids AGAIN for lunch at home.  So you just drive thru where ever is cheap so you can get that soda (Dr Pepper in my case) and you won’t have to clean up the kitchen AGAIN.  You will however have to eventually clean out the van from the wrappers that your kids just happen to forget in the way back.

When I plan dinners I have leftovers for lunch which are way tastier, healthier, and cheaper than that drive thru.  So I am sharing my meal plan for this week.  Some of these are tried and true family favorites and some are new.  I was excited to find another blogger who hosts Meal Planning Monday with a link up party too.  So go check out it our at Orgjunkie.

My meal plan for this week.

Monday Pesto Pasta from The Pioneer Woman  This is a family favorite.  My kids ask for it for their birthday.  I usually add steamed broccoli and cut up chicken.  I use the rotisserie chicken from Costco.  I also omit the tomatoes it calls for.  I love pesto and the best part is that I was able to use my basil from my garden.  This past year when I had LOTS of basil I made a huge batch of pesto and froze it.  I learned then that you can use almonds and walnuts instead of pine nuts.  I really love pine nuts but don’t love the price. So yummy!

Tuesday- Egg Burritos (date night for Mommy and Daddy).  Whenever I make these I sort of feel like I am taking the easy road but my kids cheer.  They love them and eat them up.  I usually just scramble eggs, make bacon if I have some, cheese, and a little salsa or ketchup (gross my kids started that).  Each kiddo like a different mixture in their burrito so recently we started using colored toothpick to hold them together and identify whose burrito it was.  We also use the tortillas from Costco that have to be heated up in a skillet first.  They are amazing and so tasty.  Be warned you will never go back once you buy them.

Wednesday-  Tri-Color Orzo pasta salad.  This has become a staple in our house.  It is fresh, filling, and so tasty.  I also add rotisserie chicken to this to make it more hearty. This is a great pasta to take on the go. We have brought it camping, to the beach, or a baseball tailgate.  I serve it with fresh fruit and some homemade french bread.

Thursday- Chicken Chimichangas Another good recipe for using rotisserie chicken from Costco.

Friday- Baked Ziti Easiest meal of the week.  That is because I just had to pull it out of the freezer and pop it into the oven.  I have shared before my love for freezer meals.  So helpful on a day that we will be gone but home for dinner.

Saturday- Turkey Burgers with sweet potato fries My hubby makes these and they are so yummy.

Sunday- Enchilada Pasta  A few weeks ago I tried this new recipe.  Enchiladas have always been too much work for me.  This dish gives you the tastes without the work.  I also added rotisserie chicken to this as well.

Well there you go the plan for the week.  Do you have a plan?  I would love to hear your plan or how I could help you make a plan.  Have a great week!

 

 

One thought on “Meal Planning Monday- June 23

Leave a Reply

