Five Minute Friday- Fight

Five-Minute-Friday

Today I am joining the wonderful community at Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday.  This is my third time writing on a prompt for 5 minutes.  The deal is set a timer, write on the word given with no corrections or extra time to think just write.  I am excited to write today because last night I joined my first Twitter party and chatted with some bloggers who are part of the Five Minute Friday community.

The word is FIGHT

The first thing that comes to mind for me is my kids.  They fight all the time.  It doesn’t matter what it is about.  It can be about the front seat, the last bit of cereal, who is player 1 on the Wii.  They fight all the time.  This is a part of parenting I knew was coming but didn’t realize how hard it would be to parent.

I am constantly talking to them about being a peacemaker which I would say is the complete opposite of a fighter.  Being a peacemaker means putting others needs or wants before their own.  So easy to say but so hard to do.  We are so selfish to the core all of us.  Like so many other parenting moments I am faced with my own struggles. Being selfish is a daily struggle for me. I am trying to so hard to teach my kids what I so need to learn myself.

I try to be honest with them about how hard it is and that only with the help of Jesus can we begin to be peacemakers.  We learn from the Prince of Peace how to put others first.  So as I struggle to model for them what it means to be a peacemaker I remember the verse “Blessed are the peacemakers for they will inherit the earth.”

So join us at Five Minute Friday today and share your thoughts on the word FIGHT.

5 minute friday

9 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday- Fight

  1. Yes. This.
    “Being selfish is a daily struggle for me. I am trying to so hard to teach my kids what I so need to learn myself.”
    Thank you for being honest about your struggle. A struggle that so many moms have, including myself!

    Visiting from Five Minute Friday!

  2. I am with you in this–with you in fighting my own selfishness and longing to become who I want them to be. With His help, may we get refined first, that our little ones can see and follow. That’s my daily prayer. So, so hard. Love you.

  3. Hi Amy, I love how you compared fighting with peacemaking. That is the call to be like Jesus — a peacemaker. And when my girls were little and not so little and fighting, fighting, fighting, I would pray Psalm 133 over them. 🙂

  4. While I don’t have kids of my own yet, I can tell you that my brother (two years younger) and I were the exact same way. Praying that God has mercy on me when the time comes! So glad you spent some time at the #fmfparty last night!

Leave a Reply

