Back to School

Ready for School!

Ready for School!

Well my kiddos have been in school for a week today.  It has been a pretty smooth transition back.  What really helped me was that my husband, who is a music teacher, hasn’t started school yet.  This is the first year that all 4 kiddos will be in school.  I have a 5th grader, 3rd grader, kindergartener, and preschooler.  So two days a week ALL 4 KIDS will be out of the house for three hours.  Last Thursday after taking my little one to preschool I came home sat down to read my devotional book  Jesus Calling and I started to cry.  There were so many days these past 3 years that I didn’t think this day would ever come.  Now don’t get me wrong I love my kids but a little quiet is amazing.   You see when you have 4 kids you have friends in two categories.  When my first two boys were little I had friends who we went to the park with, had play dates, and figured out mommy hood together.  Then those friends send their kiddos off to school.  They meet each other for breakfast, start to work out again, and have a little freedom.  For those of us crazy enough to have more kids let alone 2 more kids we are starting the babyhood all over again.  I then have another group of friends who kiddos are my little ages.  You see I have been home with littles for 10 and half years.  That is a long time.  So to say I was excited for the day school started would be a serious understatement. DSC_9603   DSC_9658 DSC_9659    DSC_9653 Now back to the first day of school.  I love first day of school pictures.  In our family we have always taken pictures in front of the tree in the front yard.  I love to see how they grow and how clean their shoes once were.  Don’t you love the first day, all the shoes are so clean and the shirts are not stained yet.  I used to always make my kids wear a collared shirt the first day.  I probably made my oldest wear a collar for many years.  But boy have I let go of so many battles like shirts.  These last three years I have used signs with their grades on them.  I found them here at http://www.chickabug.com/blog/2011/08/free-first-day-of-school-printables.html So many things need to be organized to keep on top of school paper, lunches, homework, and all the other extra activities.  I have some systems to share in the coming week that have really helped me.  Believe me there have been many systems that have crashed and burned too.  I would love to hear any back to school traditions your family has.  I always say the best ideas come from other moms.  Happy Back to School!

Leave a Reply

